top of page

Well I'll Be Dimmadamned, You Dimma-dabbed Your Way Into My Frozen Heart

The following piece was written with others during the Saint Michael's College Drama Club's annual 24 Hour Play Festival. During this festival, groups are given less than eight hours to write and edit a script, before it is sent off for rehearsals with directors and actors. Challenges are presented throughout the eight hour period, such as accents, props, and other references that must be incorporated into the script. Most of the time, the intention with these is to entertain college-aged students.

Co-Written with Mikayla Hoppe and Talia Perrea for the 24 Hour Play Festival in September of 2017. Characters: -Lucius/Lucy (Frozone) - a hero with ice powers -Danny (The Devious Dabber) - a misunderstood villain whose superpower is dabbing lasers to cause mischief and havoc because he just wants to be loved bc Daddy Dimmadome doesn’t love him enough) -Marcia, the nurse -a reporter -a witness -Frankie the lovely old Minnesotan neighbor -police officer -Steve the janitor ---- SCENE 1 (A person (Marcia) stands off to the side of the stage with a phone.) MARCIA: Hello, is this Lucius Best? Yes, this is Mercy West Hospital. We have you down for the emergency contact for Danny Dimmadome, son of the owner of the Dimmsdale Dimmadome. Your friend is fine, but he needs to be picked up because he is unable to drive due to his injuries. SCENE 2 (Cut to Lucius and Danny’s apartment. The two enter after returning from the hospital.) LUCIUS: Dude, what happened this time? DANNY: Oh, you know, fell down the stairs… again… LUCIUS: Man, you gotta watch out more. Seems like those stairs are out to get you. (awkward chuckle) DANNY: You shouldn’t be talking. You’ve tripped and run into walls more times than I can count. (a knock on the door. Lucius opens it up to find the neighbor Frankie, a sweet old lady, preferably in old lady sleep attire and sporting a northern Minnesota accent) FRANKIE: Oh good, you boys are back. Danny, your father, Doug Dimmadome, owner of the Dimmsdale Dimmadome, stopped by earlier. He said he was in town for just the day and thought he would drop by and visit, but you weren’t here. I told him I’d take a message for you, but you know that Doug Dimmadome (owner of the Dimmsdale Dimmadome), he just walked away and said he’d see you later. DANNY: (scoff) Typical. FRANKIE: Oh my, you’re all bruised up! Was it that Devious Dabber? I heard he was back at it again with his devious crimes. That boy needs a smack on the hand and a stern talking to. DANNY: (nervously) Oh, no, no, I’m fine. Just fell down some stairs. You should see the other guy. (awkward chuckle). I should probably go rest now… FRANKIE: Oh yeah, you betcha. I‘ve got some tuna casserole in the oven anyway. You boys take care now! (she leaves, and Danny shuts the door) LUCIUS: She’s such a sweet lady. I bet that casserole of hers would make even the Devious Dabber change his ways. DANNY: Nobody got hurt. (pause) I mean at least, that’s what I heard. LUCIUS: He’s a villain, Danny-- DANNY: Maybe he’s just… having fun, you know? LUCIUS: Fun? DANNY: He’s never caused any real harm. LUCIUS: Whatever. He’s still a villain. Not like Frozone, he’s so cool. (finger guns) DANNY: Yeah, as cool as the iceberg that sank the Titanic. He’s so… lame. LUCIUS: (*sighs*) It’s too late for this argument. You need to get some rest, and I need to get some too before my big test tomorrow. DANNY: Alright, dude, I’ll see you later. LUCIUS: See you man. (walks off) DANNY: (too himself) I’ve never hurt anyone. SCENE 2.5 (A reporter appears on the side of the stage, in the middle of a news speech) REPORTER: In today’s news, Frozone and The Devious Dabber faced off once again as the Devious Dabber did his dabbing. There was no clear winner of the fight, and the Devious Dabber escaped once again, dabbing away into the night. SCENE 3 (Scene: In the apartment. Danny and Lucius are on the couch watching Avatar: The Last Airbender. To show this, the third person can appear on the stage and do the opening monologue. “Water. Earth. Fire. Air. Long ago, the four nations lived together in harmony. Then, everything changed when the Fire Nation attacked.) DANNY: Man, I wish I was like Aang. Being able to bend air and everything. I wish people could really do that, you know? LUCIUS: (smirks) Frozone can do that with ice. DANNY: (rolls eyes) Trust me, he’s not as cool as Aang. LUCIUS: How would you know? Have you met the guy? DANNY: (nervously) Well, no. Have you? You talk about him enough. LUCIUS: No, I just think he’s cool. He helps people. Unlike the Devious Dabber… DANNY: I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again-- he’s never hurt anyone. Unlike your ‘pal’ Frozone, who injured three people while stopping that runaway subway car the other day… LUCIUS: That was an accident! He never meant to hurt those people! He’s a hero, he would never do that. DANNY: And how would you know that? Do you get coffee with him and catch up on the latest crimes or something? LUCIUS: (offended) No, I just-- (A frantic knocking at the door. Frankie bursts in, looking panicked) FRANKIE: My cat! My cat! My poor little Mr. Whiskers! He’s stuck in a tree! (Danny starts to get up off the couch, but Lucius beats him to it) LUCIUS: (still miffed at Danny about their fight) I’ll go help Frankie with her cat. You stay here. You fell down the stairs again, remember? (leaves with Frankie, leaving Danny alone once again) (sound cue: “All by Myself”. Lights down.) SCENE 4 (Lucius comes back from helping Frankie with her cat, bearing coffee and donuts) LUCIUS: Look, man, I’m sorry about our fight. It’s clear we’re never going to settle this Frozone/Devious Dabber stuff, so let’s just agree to disagree, deal? (reaches out his hand) DANNY: (pauses briefly, then shakes Lucius’s hand, but jerks back). Deal--Oh, geez man, your hand is like ice! LUCIUS: (embarrassed) Oh, uh, yeah, runs in the family, I guess. (Danny’s phone rings. He looks at it, scoffs, and drops it back down on the couch beside him) LUCIUS: Who is it? DANNY: Daddy dearest. (sarcastically and with too much forced enthusiasm) Doug Dimmadome, owner of the Dimmsdale Dimmadome-- LUCIUS: Dude, you don’t need to say that every time-- DANNY: Trust me, I do. That runs in my family. (stands up) I’ve got to go anyway. I have a meeting. LUCIUS: Meeting, for what? I thought Drama Club was every other Monday at 5:00 in McCarthy 221? (everyone gives a pointed look at the audience) It’s Saturday night, what club even meets them? DANNY: (with a straight face and voice dripping with sarcasm) Vampires Anonymous. (starts to leave) LUCIUS: (uncomfortable laughter) Okay, dude, whatever. (as Danny leaves) If you had a hot date, all you had to do was say so! (Danny flips him off as he exits. Lucius sits back down on the couch, munching on some food, your choice tbh. A little bit goes by before he turns on the TV.) REPORTER: Breaking news! The Devious Dabber is back at it again! He is wreaking havoc on the limousines outside of the Dimmsdale Dimmadome! Tires are popping, windows are smashed, and everyone is running in fear! (Lucius stands up excitedly) LUCIUS: This looks like the perfect job for me. Now… where IS my SUPER SUIT?? (runs off to get suited up) SCENE 5 (A police officer is giving a statement off to the side. He has a megaphone. Turns on siren function for a moment and then turns it off to speak into it) POLICE: (Speaks using megaphone) At this point in time, we have still not caught the Dabber, but trust me when I say we are doing everything in our power to fight this monster. There will be no devious dabbing on my watch! SCENE 6 (Scene: The apartment. Lucius is on the phone with Bob, holding his other arm awkwardly) LUCIUS: No, Bob, he got away again! I really wish you and Helen were here to help out on this one, Bob. I don’t know if I can get him by myself-- (The door makes noise as Danny enters) LUCIUS: I’ll have to call you back, Bob. See you Wednesday for bowling. (hangs up) Hey, dude, what’s up? DANNY: (shrugs) Not much, how about-- dude your arm! LUCIUS: Tis a scratch. DANNY: Not funny. That looks bad. LUCIUS: I’ve had worse. (gestures towards room) I’m just gonna go to bed, if that’s cool. DANNY: Take a couple painkillers, bro. Get some rest. I’ll see you in the morning. (heads off to room) LUCIUS: (sighs) I can’t keep hiding this from him. SCENE 8 WITNESS: (puts on a different voice for each line) How do I begin to explain the Devious Dabber? The Devious Dabber’s dabs are flawless. I hear he insured the move for $10,000. I hear he does music videos… in Japan. His least favorite movie is Frozen. One time, he met Edna Mode on a plane...And she complimented him on his lack of a cape. One time, he dabbed right near my face… it was awesome. SCENE 9 (Scene: A random place with fighting room. Lucius is in his Frozone costume and Danny is in his Devious Dabber costume, both complete with masks. The two are fighting.) REPORTER: Here we are on the scene, live with Frozone and the Dabber, back at it again! LUCIUS: Your dab is weak! You’ll never win! DANNY: ICE try, you frozen chicken! (A janitor, STEVE, enters and walks by, sweeping up some of the rubble from the mess they’re making.) STEVE: (in an Irish accent) Top o’ the mornin’ to ya! DANNY: (happily) Hey Steve! (Steve exits. Danny gets angry as he looks back at Lucius/Frozone) You’re on thin ice, Frozone. Just get out of my way. I’m not hurting anyone. LUCIUS: You tore a hole in the middle of the street! DANNY: It was an accident, you got in my way. You threw off my groove man. (Dabs and hits a Doug Dimmadome statue offstage) WITNESS: Not the Doug Dimmadome (owner of the Dimmsdale Dimmadome) statue! LUCIUS: What did Doug Dimmadome (owner of the Dimmsdale Dimmadome) ever do to you! DANNY: (emotionally) NOTHING! He did nothing for me! (fighting gets a little more intense, and some civilians get close to getting injured. Masks get torn off they see each other’s true faces. Song “Mmm watcha say” immediately starts playing because betrayal) LUCIUS: (slightly betrayed, maybe sounds a little heartbroken) Danny? DANNY: (shocked) Lucius? WITNESS: (whispers) Oh my god they were roommates. (pause as the drama builds. Turns to audience) Well I’ll be dimmadamned. END Curtain Music must be: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ew1AM8ZYDNU&t=1 OR https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SBxpeuxUiOA

bottom of page